Connect with us


Ondo State Assembly approves 12 commissioner nominees



A dozen commissioner nominees have received confirmation from the Ondo State House of Assembly to join the State Executive Council, SEC.

The Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, had initially submitted the nominees’ names to the Assembly, which included eight cabinet members from the former administration of the late Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu.

During the screening process, the nominees were found to be capable and mentally prepared for the responsibilities ahead, as stated by the Chairman of the House Committee on Selection, who also serves as the Deputy Speaker, Abayomi Akinruntan.

The confirmed nominees consist of Dr. Banji Ajaka, Pastor Segun Ayerin, Olaolu Akindolire, Boye Ologbese, Hamidu Takuro, Sunday Akinwalere, Lola Fagbemi, Saka Ogunleye, Rasheed Badmus, Olayato Aribo, Adewale Akinlosotu, and Mr. Gbenga Olaniyi.

Addressing the commissioner designates, the Speaker of the Assembly, Olamide Oladiji, urged them to give their best in their new roles, highlighting the significant task of state development.

Fagbemi, speaking on behalf of the nominees, expressed gratitude to Aiyedatiwa for the trust placed in them and pledged to perform to the best of their abilities.

Earlier in February, the Assembly had vetted and confirmed six commissioner nominees nominated by the governor.