Connect with us


ECOWAS Parliament Welcomes New Members Including Barau and Natasha Akpoti



Thursday saw the inauguration of new members into the sixth ECOWAS Parliament, including Deputy Senate President Jibrin Barau and Senator Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan representing Kogi Central.

The event, held at the International Conferences Centre in Abuja, was graced by distinguished guests such as President Bola Tinubu, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, representatives from other ECOWAS countries, diplomats, and high-ranking government officials.

Members of the ECOWAS Parliament, including Natasha Akpoti, took their oaths during the inaugural session, which was officiated by Tinubu, who serves as the Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government.

Established by the ECOWAS Treaty in May 1975 in Lagos, Nigeria, the ECOWAS Parliament consists of 115 members from the 15 member states, with Nigeria having 35 slots, comprising seven senators and 18 House of Representatives members.

The tenure for parliament members is four years, commencing from the date of their inauguration. The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, forwarded the list of the Nigerian delegation to the President of the ECOWAS Commission and the Speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament, with the Deputy President of the Senate leading the Nigerian Delegation.