Connect with us


Bayelsa rerun: INEC issues certificate of return to assembly member-elect



Bayelsa rerun INEC issues certificate of return to assembly member elect

The House of Assembly member-elect in Bayelsa State received a Certificate of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, on Thursday. The winner of the Yenagoa Constituency 2 re-run election, Amakoromo Waikumo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, was presented with the certificate by Obo Effanga, Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, at the Mahmood Yakubu media centre, Yenagoa.

The re-run election took place in the seven polling units of Gbarain 1 and 2, and Ekpetiama 1 and 2, where previous elections were canceled due to electoral malpractices. Waikumo secured 5,959 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ebiuwou Koku-Obiyai of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 5,263 votes.

The initial election held on November 11, 2023, was initially declared in favor of the APGA candidate, Warikumo Amakoro. However, PDP candidate Eboiwou Koku Obiyal challenged the result, leading to a court-ordered re-run election on February 3, 2024.

Obo Effanga, the state REC, explained, “The Court of Appeal directed that a re-run election be conducted in seven polling units to determine who actually won, and that is exactly what we did. We were able to determine the winner. The national headquarters of INEC has sent the certificate of return, which is to be presented to the winner.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *