Connect with us


Son Heung-min to lead South Korea in quest to win Asian Cup



Son Heung min Tottenham

The squad, captained by Son, also includes Bayern Munich defender Kim Min-jae and 22-year-old Paris Saint-Germain attacking midfielder Lee Kang-in.

South Korea last won the Asian Cup in 1960, and Klinsmann emphasized their readiness for the upcoming competition, stating, “It’s about time that we get this done.”

In the group stage, South Korea will compete against Malaysia, Jordan, and Bahrain. They previously faced a 1-0 defeat to Qatar in the quarter-finals of the 2019 Asian Cup.

Looking ahead, Klinsmann expressed confidence in his squad, saying, “I could see it in their eyes that they are hungry for it. They’re doing well at their clubs, they’re healthy, fit, ambitious and very hungry. This is the foundation for playing a good tournament.”

This will mark Son’s fourth appearance at the Asian Cup, after his participation in the 2015 final where South Korea lost to Australia.

Hwang’s recent performance in Wolves’ 4-1 win against Brentford put him just one goal behind Son in the Premier League scoring charts.

In addition, Paris Saint-Germain’s Lee is making waves after his move from Mallorca in the summer, with Klinsmann describing him as “a flower that starts to bloom”.

Klinsmann also mentioned that South Korea is considered one of the favorites for the Asian Cup, and they aim to fine-tune their elements over the next few weeks to enter the tournament with confidence.

However, Klinsmann was unable to include Hwang Ui-jo in the squad due to a police investigation into allegations against him.

The South Korea squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Kim Seung-gyu (Al Shabab/KSA), Jo Hyeon-woo (Ulsan), Song Bum-keun (Shonan Bellmare/JPN)

Defenders: Kim Young-gwon (Ulsan), Kim Min-jae (Bayern Munich/GER), Jung Seung-hyun (Ulsan), Kim Ju-sung (FC Seoul), Kim Ji-soo (Brentford/ENG), Seol Young-woo (Ulsan), Kim Tae-hwan (Ulsan), Lee Ki-je (Suwon), Kim Jin-su (Jeonbuk)

Midfielders: Park Yong-woo (Al Ain/UAE), Hwang In-beom (Red Star Belgrade/SRB), Hong Hyun-seok (Gent/BEL), Lee Soon-min (Gwangju), Lee Jae-sung (Mainz/GER), Lee Kang-in (Paris Saint-Germain/FRA), Son Heung-min (Tottenham/ENG), Jeong Woo-yeong (Stuttgart/GER), Hwang Hee-chan (Wolves/ENG), Moon Seon-min (Jeonbuk), Park Jin-seob (Jeonbuk), Yang Hyun-jun (Celtic/SCO)

Strikers: Cho Gue-sung (Midtjylland/DEN), Oh Hyeon-gyu (Celtic/SCO)