Connect with us


President Tinubu Urges Senate Confirmation of 10 RECs



The recently appointed RECs will serve in the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The newly appointed RECs include Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom), Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo), Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti), Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe), Shehu Wahab (Kwara), Prof. Mohammed Yelwa (Niger).

The remaining appointees are Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos), and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

Their appointments have faced controversies, with concerns raised about some of them being card-carrying members of the ruling All Progressives Congress, and two others being long-time allies of prominent politicians serving in the Tinubu administration.

In his letter requesting confirmation of the electoral commissioners, Tinubu urged the upper chamber members to expedite their consideration of his request.